Return to Record Maps

agency

MERCY HOSPICE MT SHASTA

Mount Shasta, CA

100 / 100Record completeness. Read the methodology and limitations.

CMS quality evidence by agency type

Hospice Care Index (0-10)
10 Source
Visits in last days of life
56 Source
Last-days measure denominator
78 Source
Process composite
100 Source
Process measure denominator
71 Source
Hospice average daily census
8 Source
Care Index period
01/01/2023-12/31/2024 Source

CMS enrollment and reported ownership

Enrolled legal organization
DIGNITY HEALTH Source
Enrolled DBA name
MERCY HOSPICE - MT. SHASTA Source
Enrolled NPI
1548380272 Source
Organization structure
CORPORATION Source
Incorporation date and state
1954-10-11 (CA) Source
Enrollment proprietary status
Non-profit Source
CMS enrollment records
1 Source
Distinct reported owners
10 Source
Reported owner relationships
16 Source
Owner roles, dates, shares, and classifications
COMMONSPIRIT HEALTH [Organization; CMS owner ID 1355259755]; role: 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; associated: 2019-02-01; ownership: 100%; PE: no; REIT: no, CONSOLIDATED HEALTH SERVICES LLC [Organization; CMS owner ID 3678530714]; role: OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; associated: 2021-09-20; ownership: 0%; PE: no; REIT: no, DANIEL MORISSETTE [Individual; CMS owner ID 2567359607]; role: CORPORATE OFFICER; associated: 2016-02-08; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, DANIEL MORISSETTE [Individual; CMS owner ID 2567359607]; role: OTHER; associated: 2023-09-02; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, DIGNITY HEALTH [Organization; CMS owner ID 2062320559]; role: 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; associated: 2000-01-01; ownership: 100%; PE: no; REIT: no, JAMES B VOGUS [Individual; CMS owner ID 5496744039]; role: OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; associated: 2024-01-01; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, JAMES B VOGUS [Individual; CMS owner ID 5496744039]; role: W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; associated: 2024-01-01; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, JOHN E PETERSDORF [Individual; CMS owner ID 7911994975]; role: CORPORATE OFFICER; associated: 2022-11-14; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, JOHN E PETERSDORF [Individual; CMS owner ID 7911994975]; role: W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; associated: 2019-02-01; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, MITCH MELFI [Individual; CMS owner ID 4587718739]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2021-01-27; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, MITCH MELFI [Individual; CMS owner ID 4587718739]; role: CORPORATE OFFICER; associated: 2021-01-27; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, NANCY LYNN HOWK [Individual; CMS owner ID 8628418092]; role: OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; associated: 2021-08-16; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, NANCY LYNN HOWK [Individual; CMS owner ID 8628418092]; role: W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; associated: 2021-08-16; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, SCOTT CARSWELL [Individual; CMS owner ID 1759581499]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2021-01-27; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, STEVEN W SCHARMANN [Individual; CMS owner ID 7113090184]; role: CORPORATE OFFICER; associated: 2022-11-14; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, STEVEN W SCHARMANN [Individual; CMS owner ID 7113090184]; role: W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; associated: 2019-02-01; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported Source
Owners CMS marks as private equity
0 Source
Owners CMS marks as REITs
0 Source

CMS identity

Agency type
Hospice Source
Ownership type
Non-Profit Source
Phone
(530) 926-6111 Source
CMS address
635 LASSEN LANE Source
ZIP code
96067 Source

Pricing

Published prices

Average submitted charges per hospice service day

$318.99

per hospice service day / provider-submitted charges divided by source utilization for Original Medicare fee-for-service claims

Current source Checked 2026-08-11 / Fiscal year 2024

Includes: CMS final-action Medicare fee-for-service Part A claims included in the PAC public-use file.

Excludes: A patient quote, beneficiary out-of-pocket amount, Medicaid or self-pay services, and current availability.

Calculated from CMS provider totals: 2,687 hospice service days, 70 distinct beneficiaries, $857,116 submitted charges, and $639,734 Medicare payment. Claims context only; not a provider price or patient cost.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Average Medicare payment per hospice service day

$238.08

per hospice service day / Medicare payment divided by source utilization for Original Medicare fee-for-service claims

Current source Checked 2026-08-11 / Fiscal year 2024

Includes: CMS final-action Medicare fee-for-service Part A claims included in the PAC public-use file.

Excludes: A patient quote, beneficiary out-of-pocket amount, Medicaid or self-pay services, and current availability.

Calculated from CMS provider totals: 2,687 hospice service days, 70 distinct beneficiaries, $857,116 submitted charges, and $639,734 Medicare payment. Claims context only; not a provider price or patient cost.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Market benchmarks

Average Medicare payment per hospice service day

$230.96

per hospice service day / Medicare payment divided by source utilization from CMS geographic totals

CA state benchmark / Hospice / Original Medicare fee-for-service beneficiaries in the CMS PAC public-use file

Current source Effective Fiscal year 2024 / Checked 2026-08-11

Weighted calculation from 18,798,291 hospice service days and 192,492 distinct beneficiaries. Claims context only; not a provider price, patient cost, or quote.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Average submitted charges per hospice service day

$324.06

per hospice service day / provider-submitted charges divided by source utilization from CMS geographic totals

CA state benchmark / Hospice / Original Medicare fee-for-service beneficiaries in the CMS PAC public-use file

Current source Effective Fiscal year 2024 / Checked 2026-08-11

Weighted calculation from 18,798,291 hospice service days and 192,492 distinct beneficiaries. Claims context only; not a provider price, patient cost, or quote.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Benchmarks describe the named market, not this provider's quoted price.

Source trail

Research workflow

Compare a complete shortlist

Unlock shortlist comparison, local notes, export, and source-complete research context.

Open Care Record