Return to Record Maps

agency

CARLE HOSPICE

Champaign, IL

100 / 100Record completeness. Read the methodology and limitations.

CMS quality evidence by agency type

Hospice Care Index (0-10)
10 Source
Visits in last days of life
56 Source
Last-days measure denominator
1,106 Source
Process composite
99 Source
Process measure denominator
1,457 Source
Hospice average daily census
172 Source
Care Index period
01/01/2023-12/31/2024 Source

CMS enrollment and reported ownership

Enrolled legal organization
THE CARLE FOUNDATION HOSPITAL Source
Enrolled DBA name
CARLE HOSPICE Source
Enrolled NPI
1851387385 Source
Organization structure
CORPORATION Source
Incorporation date and state
1982-05-28 (IL) Source
Enrollment proprietary status
Non-profit Source
CMS enrollment records
1 Source
Distinct reported owners
10 Source
Reported owner relationships
11 Source
Owner roles, dates, shares, and classifications
AJA ANN LYSTILA [Individual; CMS owner ID 3577641133]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2020-09-01; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, JAMES C LEONARD [Individual; CMS owner ID 9830080746]; role: CORPORATE OFFICER; associated: 2007-09-28; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, JON STEWART [Individual; CMS owner ID 2466714308]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2017-09-07; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, KARL APPELQUIST [Individual; CMS owner ID 1052615853]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2015-09-11; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, MARK CZYS [Individual; CMS owner ID 42647869]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2019-09-05; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, MATTHEW CRAIG KOLB [Individual; CMS owner ID 7315271632]; role: CORPORATE OFFICER; associated: 2019-06-07; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, MATTHEW CRAIG KOLB [Individual; CMS owner ID 7315271632]; role: W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; associated: 2019-06-07; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, MICHAEL J DEVOCELLE [Individual; CMS owner ID 9638577323]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2021-09-10; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, PAUL T TUCKER [Individual; CMS owner ID 3375805211]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2017-09-07; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, THE CARLE FOUNDATION [Organization; CMS owner ID 7315075215]; role: 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; associated: 1982-05-28; ownership: 100%; PE: no; REIT: no, URETZ J OLIPHANT [Individual; CMS owner ID 345308573]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2016-09-09; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported Source
Owners CMS marks as private equity
0 Source
Owners CMS marks as REITs
0 Source

Illinois state licensure

Illinois license type
Illinois Hospice Program Source
Illinois license number
2000966 Source
Published license expiration
2027-04-30 Source
IDPH directory status
Listed in IDPH current-license directory as of 2026-04-28 Source
CMS match
Exact name and ZIP, office address and ZIP Source
Service area
Not published; IDPH parent-office county is not service area Source

CMS identity

Agency type
Hospice Source
Ownership type
Other Source
Phone
(800) 239-3620 Source
CMS address
4116 FIELDSTONE RD Source
ZIP code
61822 Source

Pricing

Published prices

Average submitted charges per hospice service day

$393.59

per hospice service day / provider-submitted charges divided by source utilization for Original Medicare fee-for-service claims

Current source Checked 2026-08-11 / Fiscal year 2024

Includes: CMS final-action Medicare fee-for-service Part A claims included in the PAC public-use file.

Excludes: A patient quote, beneficiary out-of-pocket amount, Medicaid or self-pay services, and current availability.

Calculated from CMS provider totals: 57,911 hospice service days, 1,291 distinct beneficiaries, $22,793,248 submitted charges, and $11,179,025 Medicare payment. Claims context only; not a provider price or patient cost.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Average Medicare payment per hospice service day

$193.04

per hospice service day / Medicare payment divided by source utilization for Original Medicare fee-for-service claims

Current source Checked 2026-08-11 / Fiscal year 2024

Includes: CMS final-action Medicare fee-for-service Part A claims included in the PAC public-use file.

Excludes: A patient quote, beneficiary out-of-pocket amount, Medicaid or self-pay services, and current availability.

Calculated from CMS provider totals: 57,911 hospice service days, 1,291 distinct beneficiaries, $22,793,248 submitted charges, and $11,179,025 Medicare payment. Claims context only; not a provider price or patient cost.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Market benchmarks

Average Medicare payment per hospice service day

$192.40

per hospice service day / Medicare payment divided by source utilization from CMS geographic totals

IL state benchmark / Hospice / Original Medicare fee-for-service beneficiaries in the CMS PAC public-use file

Current source Effective Fiscal year 2024 / Checked 2026-08-11

Weighted calculation from 3,958,243 hospice service days and 59,119 distinct beneficiaries. Claims context only; not a provider price, patient cost, or quote.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Average submitted charges per hospice service day

$310.55

per hospice service day / provider-submitted charges divided by source utilization from CMS geographic totals

IL state benchmark / Hospice / Original Medicare fee-for-service beneficiaries in the CMS PAC public-use file

Current source Effective Fiscal year 2024 / Checked 2026-08-11

Weighted calculation from 3,958,243 hospice service days and 59,119 distinct beneficiaries. Claims context only; not a provider price, patient cost, or quote.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Benchmarks describe the named market, not this provider's quoted price.

Source trail

Research workflow

Compare a complete shortlist

Unlock shortlist comparison, local notes, export, and source-complete research context.

Open Care Record