Return to Record Maps

agency

HOSPICE OF MERCY

Hiawatha, IA

100 / 100Record completeness. Read the methodology and limitations.

CMS quality evidence by agency type

Hospice Care Index (0-10)
9 Source
Visits in last days of life
83 Source
Last-days measure denominator
727 Source
Process composite
99 Source
Process measure denominator
742 Source
Hospice average daily census
88 Source
Care Index period
01/01/2023-12/31/2024 Source

CMS enrollment and reported ownership

Enrolled legal organization
MERCY MEDICAL CENTER Source
Enrolled DBA name
HOSPICE OF MERCY Source
Enrolled NPI
1033159769 Source
Organization structure
CORPORATION Source
Incorporation date and state
1962-03-19 (IA) Source
Enrollment proprietary status
Non-profit Source
CMS enrollment records
1 Source
Distinct reported owners
5 Source
Reported owner relationships
10 Source
Owner roles, dates, shares, and classifications
DONNA J WATKINSON [Individual; CMS owner ID 8921422395]; role: W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; associated: 2025-02-01; ownership: 100%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, GREGORY B DEWOLF [Individual; CMS owner ID 648747089]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2026-04-04; ownership: 100%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, GREGORY B DEWOLF [Individual; CMS owner ID 648747089]; role: CORPORATE OFFICER; associated: 2026-04-04; ownership: 100%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, GREGORY B DEWOLF [Individual; CMS owner ID 648747089]; role: OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; associated: 2026-04-04; ownership: 100%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, GREGORY B DEWOLF [Individual; CMS owner ID 648747089]; role: W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; associated: 2026-04-04; ownership: 100%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, JOSEPH MALAS [Individual; CMS owner ID 6305266065]; role: CORPORATE OFFICER; associated: 2026-03-30; ownership: 100%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, JOSEPH MALAS [Individual; CMS owner ID 6305266065]; role: OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; associated: 2026-03-30; ownership: 100%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, JOSEPH MALAS [Individual; CMS owner ID 6305266065]; role: W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; associated: 2026-03-30; ownership: 100%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, MERCY MEDICAL CENTER [Organization; CMS owner ID 4183535271]; role: 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; associated: 1989-12-01; ownership: 100%; PE: no; REIT: no, TAWNYA ANN SALSBERY [Individual; CMS owner ID 547172413]; role: W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; associated: 2022-11-01; ownership: 100%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported Source
Owners CMS marks as private equity
0 Source
Owners CMS marks as REITs
0 Source

CMS identity

Agency type
Hospice Source
Ownership type
Non-Profit Source
Phone
(319) 398-6496 Source
CMS address
315 18TH AVENUE Source
ZIP code
52233 Source

Pricing

Published prices

Average submitted charges per hospice service day

$421.24

per hospice service day / provider-submitted charges divided by source utilization for Original Medicare fee-for-service claims

Current source Checked 2026-08-11 / Fiscal year 2024

Includes: CMS final-action Medicare fee-for-service Part A claims included in the PAC public-use file.

Excludes: A patient quote, beneficiary out-of-pocket amount, Medicaid or self-pay services, and current availability.

Calculated from CMS provider totals: 31,901 hospice service days, 731 distinct beneficiaries, $13,438,136 submitted charges, and $6,229,733 Medicare payment. Claims context only; not a provider price or patient cost.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Average Medicare payment per hospice service day

$195.28

per hospice service day / Medicare payment divided by source utilization for Original Medicare fee-for-service claims

Current source Checked 2026-08-11 / Fiscal year 2024

Includes: CMS final-action Medicare fee-for-service Part A claims included in the PAC public-use file.

Excludes: A patient quote, beneficiary out-of-pocket amount, Medicaid or self-pay services, and current availability.

Calculated from CMS provider totals: 31,901 hospice service days, 731 distinct beneficiaries, $13,438,136 submitted charges, and $6,229,733 Medicare payment. Claims context only; not a provider price or patient cost.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Market benchmarks

Average Medicare payment per hospice service day

$173.22

per hospice service day / Medicare payment divided by source utilization from CMS geographic totals

IA state benchmark / Hospice / Original Medicare fee-for-service beneficiaries in the CMS PAC public-use file

Current source Effective Fiscal year 2024 / Checked 2026-08-11

Weighted calculation from 1,399,598 hospice service days and 21,816 distinct beneficiaries. Claims context only; not a provider price, patient cost, or quote.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Average submitted charges per hospice service day

$305.31

per hospice service day / provider-submitted charges divided by source utilization from CMS geographic totals

IA state benchmark / Hospice / Original Medicare fee-for-service beneficiaries in the CMS PAC public-use file

Current source Effective Fiscal year 2024 / Checked 2026-08-11

Weighted calculation from 1,399,598 hospice service days and 21,816 distinct beneficiaries. Claims context only; not a provider price, patient cost, or quote.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Benchmarks describe the named market, not this provider's quoted price.

Source trail

Research workflow

Compare a complete shortlist

Unlock shortlist comparison, local notes, export, and source-complete research context.

Open Care Record