Return to Record Maps

agency

BURGESS HOSPICE

Onawa, IA

100 / 100Record completeness. Read the methodology and limitations.

CMS quality evidence by agency type

Hospice Care Index (0-10)
10 Source
Visits in last days of life
80 Source
Last-days measure denominator
61 Source
Process composite
82 Source
Process measure denominator
57 Source
Hospice average daily census
8 Source
Care Index period
01/01/2023-12/31/2024 Source

CMS enrollment and reported ownership

Enrolled legal organization
BURGESS HEALTH CENTER Source
Enrolled DBA name
BURGESS HOSPICE Source
Enrolled NPI
1013080951 Source
Organization structure
CORPORATION Source
Incorporation date and state
1959-04-16 (IA) Source
Enrollment proprietary status
Non-profit Source
CMS enrollment records
1 Source
Distinct reported owners
14 Source
Reported owner relationships
22 Source
Owner roles, dates, shares, and classifications
ALLISON L KOVAR [Individual; CMS owner ID 5496925984]; role: CONTRACTED MANAGING EMPLOYEE; associated: 2011-08-15; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, ALLISON L KOVAR [Individual; CMS owner ID 5496925984]; role: OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; associated: 2011-08-15; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, AMY MAULE [Individual; CMS owner ID 9133512973]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2020-10-26; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, AMY MAULE [Individual; CMS owner ID 9133512973]; role: CORPORATE OFFICER; associated: 2023-03-29; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, ANDREW TIREVOLD [Individual; CMS owner ID 42603888]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2020-10-26; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, BEAU T HUPKE [Individual; CMS owner ID 1355888777]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2024-04-22; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, JAMES L GOBELL [Individual; CMS owner ID 5193991362]; role: OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; associated: 2023-10-02; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, JAMES L GOBELL [Individual; CMS owner ID 5193991362]; role: W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; associated: 2023-10-02; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, JEFFREY R PRATT [Individual; CMS owner ID 2264979681]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2024-04-22; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, KEITH A SCHRUNK [Individual; CMS owner ID 8325112154]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2012-04-23; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, KEITH A SCHRUNK [Individual; CMS owner ID 8325112154]; role: CORPORATE OFFICER; associated: 2020-06-29; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, LYNN R WOLD [Individual; CMS owner ID 3476545948]; role: CORPORATE OFFICER; associated: 2023-07-31; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, LYNN R WOLD [Individual; CMS owner ID 3476545948]; role: OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; associated: 2023-07-31; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, LYNN R WOLD [Individual; CMS owner ID 3476545948]; role: W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; associated: 2023-07-31; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, MARI B MILLER [Individual; CMS owner ID 6103908207]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2007-06-25; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, MARI B MILLER [Individual; CMS owner ID 6103908207]; role: CORPORATE OFFICER; associated: 2019-08-05; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, MATTHEW MINNIHAN [Individual; CMS owner ID 9537524848]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2023-01-23; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, PAUL E DUDLEY [Individual; CMS owner ID 8820091119]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2009-06-22; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, RACHEL M MARTIAN [Individual; CMS owner ID 345619466]; role: OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; associated: 2022-09-27; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, RACHEL M MARTIAN [Individual; CMS owner ID 345619466]; role: W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; associated: 2022-09-27; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, SHELIA M DUARTE [Individual; CMS owner ID 2062631898]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2014-01-27; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, TERRY MURRELL [Individual; CMS owner ID 4789962556]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2023-01-23; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported Source

CMS identity

Agency type
Hospice Source
Ownership type
For-Profit Source
Phone
(712) 423-2311 Source
CMS address
1600 DIAMOND STREET Source
ZIP code
51040 Source

Pricing

Published prices

Average submitted charges per hospice service day

$342.99

per hospice service day / provider-submitted charges divided by source utilization for Original Medicare fee-for-service claims

Current source Checked 2026-08-11 / Fiscal year 2024

Includes: CMS final-action Medicare fee-for-service Part A claims included in the PAC public-use file.

Excludes: A patient quote, beneficiary out-of-pocket amount, Medicaid or self-pay services, and current availability.

Calculated from CMS provider totals: 4,081 hospice service days, 66 distinct beneficiaries, $1,399,751 submitted charges, and $689,244 Medicare payment. Claims context only; not a provider price or patient cost.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Average Medicare payment per hospice service day

$168.89

per hospice service day / Medicare payment divided by source utilization for Original Medicare fee-for-service claims

Current source Checked 2026-08-11 / Fiscal year 2024

Includes: CMS final-action Medicare fee-for-service Part A claims included in the PAC public-use file.

Excludes: A patient quote, beneficiary out-of-pocket amount, Medicaid or self-pay services, and current availability.

Calculated from CMS provider totals: 4,081 hospice service days, 66 distinct beneficiaries, $1,399,751 submitted charges, and $689,244 Medicare payment. Claims context only; not a provider price or patient cost.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Market benchmarks

Average Medicare payment per hospice service day

$173.22

per hospice service day / Medicare payment divided by source utilization from CMS geographic totals

IA state benchmark / Hospice / Original Medicare fee-for-service beneficiaries in the CMS PAC public-use file

Current source Effective Fiscal year 2024 / Checked 2026-08-11

Weighted calculation from 1,399,598 hospice service days and 21,816 distinct beneficiaries. Claims context only; not a provider price, patient cost, or quote.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Average submitted charges per hospice service day

$305.31

per hospice service day / provider-submitted charges divided by source utilization from CMS geographic totals

IA state benchmark / Hospice / Original Medicare fee-for-service beneficiaries in the CMS PAC public-use file

Current source Effective Fiscal year 2024 / Checked 2026-08-11

Weighted calculation from 1,399,598 hospice service days and 21,816 distinct beneficiaries. Claims context only; not a provider price, patient cost, or quote.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Benchmarks describe the named market, not this provider's quoted price.

Source trail

Research workflow

Compare a complete shortlist

Unlock shortlist comparison, local notes, export, and source-complete research context.

Open Care Record