Return to Record Maps

agency

VITAS HEALTHCARE CORPORATION OF OHIO

Cincinnati, OH

100 / 100Record completeness. Read the methodology and limitations.

CMS quality evidence by agency type

Hospice Care Index (0-10)
10 Source
Visits in last days of life
61 Source
Last-days measure denominator
1,000 Source
Process composite
96 Source
Process measure denominator
1,623 Source
Hospice average daily census
445 Source
Care Index period
01/01/2023-12/31/2024 Source

CMS enrollment and reported ownership

Enrolled legal organization
VITAS HEALTHCARE CORPORATION OF OHIO Source
Enrolled NPI
1568505105 Source
Organization structure
CORPORATION Source
Incorporation date and state
1992-07-21 (DE) Source
Enrollment proprietary status
Proprietary Source
CMS enrollment records
1 Source
Distinct reported owners
11 Source
Reported owner relationships
13 Source
Owner roles, dates, shares, and classifications
ALEXANDER FERNANDEZ [Individual; CMS owner ID 5890088132]; role: CORPORATE OFFICER; associated: 2023-03-23; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, BRIAN JUDKINS [Individual; CMS owner ID 8820414808]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2020-08-31; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, BRIAN JUDKINS [Individual; CMS owner ID 8820414808]; role: CORPORATE OFFICER; associated: 2020-08-31; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, CHEMED CORPORATION [Organization; CMS owner ID 42206625]; role: 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; associated: 2001-04-27; ownership: 100%; PE: no; REIT: no, COMFORT CARE HOLDINGS COMPANY [Organization; CMS owner ID 1759377336]; role: 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; associated: 2001-04-27; ownership: 100%; PE: no; REIT: no, GREGORY S VOLK [Individual; CMS owner ID 3173414778]; role: W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; associated: 2019-05-01; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, JENNIFER PHILLIPS [Individual; CMS owner ID 8325583693]; role: W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; associated: 2024-06-17; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, JOEL WHERLEY [Individual; CMS owner ID 5395878938]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2025-08-11; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, JOEL WHERLEY [Individual; CMS owner ID 5395878938]; role: CORPORATE OFFICER; associated: 2025-08-11; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, KEVIN MCNAMARA [Individual; CMS owner ID 4284616715]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2004-02-24; ownership: 33.3%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, MICHAEL WITZEMAN [Individual; CMS owner ID 6507206935]; role: CORPORATE OFFICER; associated: 2024-04-08; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, VITAS HEALTHCARE CORPORATION [Organization; CMS owner ID 7113836925]; role: 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; associated: 2001-04-27; ownership: 100%; PE: no; REIT: no, VITAS HOSPICE SERVICES, LLC [Organization; CMS owner ID 4486563293]; role: 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; associated: 2001-04-27; ownership: 100%; PE: no; REIT: no Source
Owners CMS marks as private equity
0 Source
Owners CMS marks as REITs
0 Source

CMS identity

Agency type
Hospice Source
Ownership type
For-Profit Source
Phone
(513) 742-6310 Source
CMS address
11500 NORTHLAKE DRIVE, SUITE 400 Source
ZIP code
45249 Source

Pricing

Published prices

Average submitted charges per hospice service day

$223.14

per hospice service day / provider-submitted charges divided by source utilization for Original Medicare fee-for-service claims

Current source Checked 2026-08-11 / Fiscal year 2024

Includes: CMS final-action Medicare fee-for-service Part A claims included in the PAC public-use file.

Excludes: A patient quote, beneficiary out-of-pocket amount, Medicaid or self-pay services, and current availability.

Calculated from CMS provider totals: 154,191 hospice service days, 1,737 distinct beneficiaries, $34,405,954 submitted charges, and $28,445,326 Medicare payment. Claims context only; not a provider price or patient cost.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Average Medicare payment per hospice service day

$184.48

per hospice service day / Medicare payment divided by source utilization for Original Medicare fee-for-service claims

Current source Checked 2026-08-11 / Fiscal year 2024

Includes: CMS final-action Medicare fee-for-service Part A claims included in the PAC public-use file.

Excludes: A patient quote, beneficiary out-of-pocket amount, Medicaid or self-pay services, and current availability.

Calculated from CMS provider totals: 154,191 hospice service days, 1,737 distinct beneficiaries, $34,405,954 submitted charges, and $28,445,326 Medicare payment. Claims context only; not a provider price or patient cost.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Market benchmarks

Average Medicare payment per hospice service day

$180.81

per hospice service day / Medicare payment divided by source utilization from CMS geographic totals

OH state benchmark / Hospice / Original Medicare fee-for-service beneficiaries in the CMS PAC public-use file

Current source Effective Fiscal year 2024 / Checked 2026-08-11

Weighted calculation from 6,463,603 hospice service days and 82,055 distinct beneficiaries. Claims context only; not a provider price, patient cost, or quote.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Average submitted charges per hospice service day

$284.10

per hospice service day / provider-submitted charges divided by source utilization from CMS geographic totals

OH state benchmark / Hospice / Original Medicare fee-for-service beneficiaries in the CMS PAC public-use file

Current source Effective Fiscal year 2024 / Checked 2026-08-11

Weighted calculation from 6,463,603 hospice service days and 82,055 distinct beneficiaries. Claims context only; not a provider price, patient cost, or quote.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Benchmarks describe the named market, not this provider's quoted price.

Source trail

Research workflow

Compare a complete shortlist

Unlock shortlist comparison, local notes, export, and source-complete research context.

Open Care Record