Return to Record Maps

agency

GATEWAY HOSPICE

Pittsburgh, PA

100 / 100Record completeness. Read the methodology and limitations.

CMS quality evidence by agency type

Hospice Care Index (0-10)
10 Source
Visits in last days of life
86 Source
Last-days measure denominator
535 Source
Process composite
95 Source
Process measure denominator
399 Source
Hospice average daily census
153 Source
Care Index period
01/01/2023-12/31/2024 Source

CMS enrollment and reported ownership

Enrolled legal organization
GATEWAY HOSPICE & PALLIATIVE CARE, INC. Source
Enrolled DBA name
GATEWAY HOSPICE Source
Enrolled NPI
1598741258 Source
Organization structure
CORPORATION Source
Incorporation date and state
1993-01-19 (PA) Source
Enrollment proprietary status
Proprietary Source
CMS enrollment records
1 Source
Distinct reported owners
6 Source
Reported owner relationships
9 Source
Owner roles, dates, shares, and classifications
CHRIS M GEHRLEIN [Individual; CMS owner ID 6002858297]; role: CONTRACTED MANAGING EMPLOYEE; associated: 2022-07-01; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, GOOD LIFE DYNASTY TRUST [Organization; CMS owner ID 6103281456]; role: 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; associated: 2023-02-15; ownership: 100%; PE: no; REIT: no, JAMES VESCO [Individual; CMS owner ID 9931573466]; role: OTHER; associated: 2023-03-17; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, JOHN COOK [Individual; CMS owner ID 3577937002]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2023-02-09; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, JOHN COOK [Individual; CMS owner ID 3577937002]; role: CORPORATE OFFICER; associated: 2023-02-09; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, JOSEPH CAIN [Individual; CMS owner ID 1759755283]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2023-02-09; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, JOSEPH CAIN [Individual; CMS owner ID 1759755283]; role: CORPORATE OFFICER; associated: 2023-02-09; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, MARY MAUDE TOBIN [Individual; CMS owner ID 6901810266]; role: CORPORATE OFFICER; associated: 2005-11-26; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, MARY MAUDE TOBIN [Individual; CMS owner ID 6901810266]; role: W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; associated: 2005-11-26; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported Source
Owners CMS marks as private equity
0 Source
Owners CMS marks as REITs
0 Source

CMS identity

Agency type
Hospice Source
Ownership type
For-Profit Source
Phone
(412) 536-2020 Source
CMS address
9380 MCKNIGHT ROAD, SUITE 201 Source
ZIP code
15237 Source

Pricing

Published prices

Average submitted charges per hospice service day

$216.93

per hospice service day / provider-submitted charges divided by source utilization for Original Medicare fee-for-service claims

Current source Checked 2026-08-11 / Fiscal year 2024

Includes: CMS final-action Medicare fee-for-service Part A claims included in the PAC public-use file.

Excludes: A patient quote, beneficiary out-of-pocket amount, Medicaid or self-pay services, and current availability.

Calculated from CMS provider totals: 51,467 hospice service days, 513 distinct beneficiaries, $11,164,700 submitted charges, and $8,386,606 Medicare payment. Claims context only; not a provider price or patient cost.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Average Medicare payment per hospice service day

$162.95

per hospice service day / Medicare payment divided by source utilization for Original Medicare fee-for-service claims

Current source Checked 2026-08-11 / Fiscal year 2024

Includes: CMS final-action Medicare fee-for-service Part A claims included in the PAC public-use file.

Excludes: A patient quote, beneficiary out-of-pocket amount, Medicaid or self-pay services, and current availability.

Calculated from CMS provider totals: 51,467 hospice service days, 513 distinct beneficiaries, $11,164,700 submitted charges, and $8,386,606 Medicare payment. Claims context only; not a provider price or patient cost.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Market benchmarks

Average Medicare payment per hospice service day

$182.28

per hospice service day / Medicare payment divided by source utilization from CMS geographic totals

PA state benchmark / Hospice / Original Medicare fee-for-service beneficiaries in the CMS PAC public-use file

Current source Effective Fiscal year 2024 / Checked 2026-08-11

Weighted calculation from 4,907,910 hospice service days and 73,857 distinct beneficiaries. Claims context only; not a provider price, patient cost, or quote.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Average submitted charges per hospice service day

$322.08

per hospice service day / provider-submitted charges divided by source utilization from CMS geographic totals

PA state benchmark / Hospice / Original Medicare fee-for-service beneficiaries in the CMS PAC public-use file

Current source Effective Fiscal year 2024 / Checked 2026-08-11

Weighted calculation from 4,907,910 hospice service days and 73,857 distinct beneficiaries. Claims context only; not a provider price, patient cost, or quote.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Benchmarks describe the named market, not this provider's quoted price.

Source trail

Research workflow

Compare a complete shortlist

Unlock shortlist comparison, local notes, export, and source-complete research context.

Open Care Record