Return to Record Maps

agency

VITAS HEALTHCARE OF TEXAS LP

San Antonio, TX

100 / 100Record completeness. Read the methodology and limitations.

CMS quality evidence by agency type

Hospice Care Index (0-10)
10 Source
Visits in last days of life
66 Source
Last-days measure denominator
1,068 Source
Process composite
97 Source
Process measure denominator
1,396 Source
Hospice average daily census
423 Source
Care Index period
01/01/2023-12/31/2024 Source

CMS enrollment and reported ownership

Enrolled legal organization
VITAS HEALTHCARE OF TEXAS, LP Source
Enrolled NPI
1447399696 Source
Organization structure
LLC Source
Enrollment proprietary status
Proprietary Source
CMS enrollment records
1 Source
Distinct reported owners
11 Source
Reported owner relationships
13 Source
Owner roles, dates, shares, and classifications
ALEXANDER FERNANDEZ [Individual; CMS owner ID 5890088132]; role: CORPORATE OFFICER; associated: 2023-03-23; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, BRIAN JUDKINS [Individual; CMS owner ID 8820414808]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2020-08-31; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, BRIAN JUDKINS [Individual; CMS owner ID 8820414808]; role: CORPORATE OFFICER; associated: 2020-08-31; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, CHEMED CORPORATION [Organization; CMS owner ID 42206625]; role: 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; associated: 2007-11-07; ownership: not reported; PE: no; REIT: no, COMFORT CARE HOLDINGS COMPANY [Organization; CMS owner ID 1759377336]; role: 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; associated: 2014-01-22; ownership: 100%; PE: no; REIT: no, JOEL WHERLEY [Individual; CMS owner ID 5395878938]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2025-08-11; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, JOEL WHERLEY [Individual; CMS owner ID 5395878938]; role: CORPORATE OFFICER; associated: 2025-08-11; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, KEVIN MCNAMARA [Individual; CMS owner ID 4284616715]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2007-05-01; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, MARIA CRISTINA JOHNSON [Individual; CMS owner ID 143300228]; role: W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; associated: 2024-05-13; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, MICHAEL WITZEMAN [Individual; CMS owner ID 6507206935]; role: CORPORATE OFFICER; associated: 2024-04-08; ownership: 0%; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, VITAS HEALTHCARE CORPORATION [Organization; CMS owner ID 7113836925]; role: 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; associated: 2001-04-27; ownership: not reported; PE: no; REIT: no, VITAS HOSPICE SERVICES, LLC [Organization; CMS owner ID 4486563293]; role: 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; associated: 2014-01-22; ownership: 100%; PE: no; REIT: no, ZAUNDRA ELLIS [Individual; CMS owner ID 7416865852]; role: W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; associated: 2025-06-09; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported Source
Owners CMS marks as private equity
0 Source
Owners CMS marks as REITs
0 Source

CMS identity

Agency type
Hospice Source
Ownership type
For-Profit Source
Phone
(210) 348-4040 Source
CMS address
5750 NORTHWEST PKWY STE 111 Source
ZIP code
78249 Source

Pricing

Published prices

Average submitted charges per hospice service day

$221.22

per hospice service day / provider-submitted charges divided by source utilization for Original Medicare fee-for-service claims

Current source Checked 2026-08-11 / Fiscal year 2024

Includes: CMS final-action Medicare fee-for-service Part A claims included in the PAC public-use file.

Excludes: A patient quote, beneficiary out-of-pocket amount, Medicaid or self-pay services, and current availability.

Calculated from CMS provider totals: 156,045 hospice service days, 1,617 distinct beneficiaries, $34,520,185 submitted charges, and $27,909,086 Medicare payment. Claims context only; not a provider price or patient cost.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Average Medicare payment per hospice service day

$178.85

per hospice service day / Medicare payment divided by source utilization for Original Medicare fee-for-service claims

Current source Checked 2026-08-11 / Fiscal year 2024

Includes: CMS final-action Medicare fee-for-service Part A claims included in the PAC public-use file.

Excludes: A patient quote, beneficiary out-of-pocket amount, Medicaid or self-pay services, and current availability.

Calculated from CMS provider totals: 156,045 hospice service days, 1,617 distinct beneficiaries, $34,520,185 submitted charges, and $27,909,086 Medicare payment. Claims context only; not a provider price or patient cost.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Market benchmarks

Average Medicare payment per hospice service day

$176.56

per hospice service day / Medicare payment divided by source utilization from CMS geographic totals

TX state benchmark / Hospice / Original Medicare fee-for-service beneficiaries in the CMS PAC public-use file

Current source Effective Fiscal year 2024 / Checked 2026-08-11

Weighted calculation from 15,470,533 hospice service days and 157,549 distinct beneficiaries. Claims context only; not a provider price, patient cost, or quote.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Average submitted charges per hospice service day

$273.67

per hospice service day / provider-submitted charges divided by source utilization from CMS geographic totals

TX state benchmark / Hospice / Original Medicare fee-for-service beneficiaries in the CMS PAC public-use file

Current source Effective Fiscal year 2024 / Checked 2026-08-11

Weighted calculation from 15,470,533 hospice service days and 157,549 distinct beneficiaries. Claims context only; not a provider price, patient cost, or quote.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Benchmarks describe the named market, not this provider's quoted price.

Source trail

Research workflow

Compare a complete shortlist

Unlock shortlist comparison, local notes, export, and source-complete research context.

Open Care Record