Return to Record Maps

agency

CENTRA BEDFORD HOSPICE

Bedford, VA

100 / 100Record completeness. Read the methodology and limitations.

CMS quality evidence by agency type

Hospice Care Index (0-10)
10 Source
Visits in last days of life
70 Source
Last-days measure denominator
202 Source
Process composite
100 Source
Process measure denominator
147 Source
Hospice average daily census
33 Source
Care Index period
01/01/2023-12/31/2024 Source

CMS enrollment and reported ownership

Enrolled legal organization
BEDFORD MEMORIAL HOSPITAL Source
Enrolled DBA name
CENTRA BEDFORD HOSPICE Source
Enrolled NPI
1770576118 Source
Organization structure
LLC Source
Incorporation date and state
2014-05-20 (VA) Source
Enrollment proprietary status
Non-profit Source
CMS enrollment records
1 Source
Distinct reported owners
14 Source
Reported owner relationships
14 Source
Owner roles, dates, shares, and classifications
APRIL CHEEK-MESSIER [Individual; CMS owner ID 3577042670]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2026-01-01; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, BRENDA L STOKES [Individual; CMS owner ID 7517989619]; role: W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; associated: 2025-06-01; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, CYNTHIA D GUNNOE [Individual; CMS owner ID 3173815578]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2018-01-25; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, DANA T GARRETT [Individual; CMS owner ID 8022550847]; role: W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; associated: 2025-06-01; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, DAVID SENENIG [Individual; CMS owner ID 2062834609]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2024-01-01; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, DENNY HUFF [Individual; CMS owner ID 9537556386]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2024-01-01; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, HILARY F BASHAM [Individual; CMS owner ID 1951570845]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2024-01-01; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, JANICE ELAINE LUTH [Individual; CMS owner ID 6305990854]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2018-01-25; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, MARY ZIRKLE [Individual; CMS owner ID 1153743794]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2024-01-01; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, RHETTA WATKINS [Individual; CMS owner ID 2264829019]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2025-01-01; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, RICHARD J TUGMAN [Individual; CMS owner ID 4789909995]; role: CORPORATE OFFICER; associated: 2025-01-01; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, ROBERT TONKINSON [Individual; CMS owner ID 840232633]; role: CORPORATE OFFICER; associated: 2025-01-01; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, TIMOTHY FRITZ [Individual; CMS owner ID 8022148394]; role: W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; associated: 2022-01-01; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported, TIMOTHY L HAYDEN [Individual; CMS owner ID 4082906482]; role: CORPORATE DIRECTOR; associated: 2018-01-25; ownership: not reported; PE: not reported; REIT: not reported Source

CMS identity

Agency type
Hospice Source
Ownership type
Other Source
Phone
(540) 587-6592 Source
CMS address
1621 WHITEFIELD DRIVE, SUITE C Source
ZIP code
24523 Source

Pricing

Published prices

Average submitted charges per hospice service day

$285.17

per hospice service day / provider-submitted charges divided by source utilization for Original Medicare fee-for-service claims

Current source Checked 2026-08-11 / Fiscal year 2024

Includes: CMS final-action Medicare fee-for-service Part A claims included in the PAC public-use file.

Excludes: A patient quote, beneficiary out-of-pocket amount, Medicaid or self-pay services, and current availability.

Calculated from CMS provider totals: 10,496 hospice service days, 161 distinct beneficiaries, $2,993,118 submitted charges, and $1,770,329 Medicare payment. Claims context only; not a provider price or patient cost.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Average Medicare payment per hospice service day

$168.67

per hospice service day / Medicare payment divided by source utilization for Original Medicare fee-for-service claims

Current source Checked 2026-08-11 / Fiscal year 2024

Includes: CMS final-action Medicare fee-for-service Part A claims included in the PAC public-use file.

Excludes: A patient quote, beneficiary out-of-pocket amount, Medicaid or self-pay services, and current availability.

Calculated from CMS provider totals: 10,496 hospice service days, 161 distinct beneficiaries, $2,993,118 submitted charges, and $1,770,329 Medicare payment. Claims context only; not a provider price or patient cost.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Market benchmarks

Average Medicare payment per hospice service day

$178.82

per hospice service day / Medicare payment divided by source utilization from CMS geographic totals

VA state benchmark / Hospice / Original Medicare fee-for-service beneficiaries in the CMS PAC public-use file

Current source Effective Fiscal year 2024 / Checked 2026-08-11

Weighted calculation from 3,042,242 hospice service days and 41,340 distinct beneficiaries. Claims context only; not a provider price, patient cost, or quote.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Average submitted charges per hospice service day

$295.52

per hospice service day / provider-submitted charges divided by source utilization from CMS geographic totals

VA state benchmark / Hospice / Original Medicare fee-for-service beneficiaries in the CMS PAC public-use file

Current source Effective Fiscal year 2024 / Checked 2026-08-11

Weighted calculation from 3,042,242 hospice service days and 41,340 distinct beneficiaries. Claims context only; not a provider price, patient cost, or quote.

CMS Medicare Post-Acute Care Utilization - Hospice by Geography and Provider source

Benchmarks describe the named market, not this provider's quoted price.

Source trail

Research workflow

Compare a complete shortlist

Unlock shortlist comparison, local notes, export, and source-complete research context.

Open Care Record